top of page

Solo Dates

I'm honestly afraid of being by myself. For the longest time I didn't want to do things on my own or without others. I am so dependent on others, making decisions-- where to go, where to eat. I don't know why I am so reliant on others, but that's the way I am. Not only that, I was afraid of being lonely and being seen alone. I've come to a point in my life where I'm finally realizing it's okay being alone, that I should enjoy the times I am alone. Not everyone will have the time to meet up with me, or hang out and I'm not angry about it.


It's a no brainer, but it took me awhile to get over my fear of being alone. I'm not 100% comfortable being alone yet, but I'm getting there. Here I am at Groundswell Cafe-- alone; writing this blog post. It all starts with coming to terms with myself and learning how to enjoy my alone time. I try to plan solo dates for myself whenever I can. Go try a new cafe, restaurant, shopping, wherever whenever I can.


My goal is to book a solo trip for myself; these small solo dates are preparing myself for my big trip alone. Hopefully I can do one by the end of 2018!



If you've been on a solo trip, let me know how your experience was. Any tips are greatly appreciated as well.


- Dua Y.

34 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page