top of page

My Brazilian Wax Experience

Last week I created a poll on my IG stories asking if you've tried Brazilian Wax and to my surprise, the result was shocking to me. Most of the women that answered my poll (60% or more) said that they haven't tried it. I pondered why, but then I remembered why it took me so long to try it too.


1. I honestly was shy and embarrassed to have someone wax me, let alone, be in that area of my body. That's my number one reason why I never considered doing it.

2. I was afraid of the pain because the esthetician is waxing a very sensitive area on the body.


Those were the two main reasons why I didn't consider doing it sooner. After hearing a friends's experience and some convincing I decided to book my appointment. I wasn't sure what to expect, so I did a bit of homework. I read up some articles and it definitely gave me a good idea what to expect, how to prepare myself and some waxing etiquette. What I did was showered an hour before my appointment and took an Ibuprofen before hand. I wore loose fitting clothes so that afterwards there won't be any discomfort.


What is the difference?


Brazilian wax - All the hair is removed including the backside; if you would like to leave a small patch in the front you can.


Bikini- Hair that extends outside of the panty liner will be removed.


Modified Bikini- Hair removed inside the panty line to create a thin strip of hair down the middle of the bikini area.


I went to Waxing in the City in Woodbury per my friend's recommendation. The staff there was very friendly and professional. After the initial check in, I was greeted and taken into a small room. They have me undress from the bottom down and gave me a paper like gown to wear. The waxer usually knocks before coming in the room to ensure that they're not walking in while I'm changing.


So the person that waxed me was very nice and made the whole experience a bit less awkward for me. By talking to me, it was a bit of a distraction for me and found that it helped. They used wax instead of wax stripes and the whole session lasted for about 35 to 45 minutes. You butterfly one side of your leg and they start waxing. Let me tell you-- they really get it all if you're doing a Brazilian, they'll even take out tweezers to ensure it's all gone. You can choose to go bare or leave some hair if you choose.


Wax in the City usually has a deal, if you're a new customer, the price is half off. In addition, if you refer a friend you get a $5 credit that goes to your account. I've gone twice to Wax in the City only because my period was a bit irregular, so I decided to wait. In total, I went to Wax in the City twice before switching to European Wax Center.


Just recently, I decided to try a different place. European Wax Center, they also have multiple locations just like Waxing in the City. In addition, they have the new customer deal and referral. I believe their referral is $10 credit, but I'm not 100% correct. I tried looking on their online website, but couldn't find it. I know I saw a referral card at the store. Both locations did reminder phone calls/ emails-- which I appreciate them because I tend to forget if I don't put things on my calendar.


Now, here is the difference:


European Wax Center staff was friendly and professional. I honestly waited about a minute after checking in and was already taken to the room. Mind you, I did schedule on a Friday morning. They didn't however have me wear a gown, nor did the waxer was out of the room when I was undressing from the bottom down. I thought the experience was going to be the same, but it wasn't. Not a total deal breaker. The waxer was SUPER quick! I honestly was done in about 10-15 minutes! I was SHOCKED! I wasn't sure if it was a good or bad thing that it was done in such a shorter amount of time. I do think that they made bigger wax stripes compared to my first and second time. However, it could be just a preference of the waxer? (I'm not too sure.)


The experience was good, the waxer was very nice, she talked the whole duration and made the experience comfortable. I definitely was planning on going back to EWC, but I had another friend suggest I try sugaring! So next month, I'll be trying that out instead of wax! Definitely excited to see the difference and compare. Let me know if you'd like to see!


Lastly, I was informed that the skin area may be sensitive after the wax. Some things that they recommend to avoid were: sun exposure, tanning, hot baths, hot tubs, heavy lotions, and exfoliation, no intense work out for 24-48 hours following the waxing service.


Overall, I think it's worth trying at least once. I know it's not for everyone, so don't feel pressured to try if you don't want to. For myself personally, I will try to keep up with it even though it's a bit pricey. Recommendation is to go in every 4-6 weeks (6 weeks might be pushing it.)


Let me know your thoughts if you've done it or not. If you've tried sugaring, I would love to hear your experience as well. I hope I was able to offer you some type of insight of a Brazilian wax.


Until next time Darlings!


-Dua


180 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page