top of page

Comfort Food -- Hmong

I grew up eating Hmong sausage, sticky rice and papaya salad. For those that have not tried these-- I would definitely recommend you to try so! Even if you don't like the taste, I think it's important to at least try something once. Food is definitely an universal language-- a necessity, part Maslow's Hierarchy of needs.

​

I have fond memories of eating spicy papaya, Hmong sausage, and sticky rice. They go hand and hand together so well-- just like PB & J, burgers and fries. You get the point!

I remember going to the Hmong tournaments, New Year, and store getting these foods all the time with my siblings and friends.

​

I used to be a bit ashamed of the food I ate at home. I know, that's sad right? I was scared that the food would be smelly, and that people would look at me weirdly and make rude comments about my food. Now that I'm older, I've learned to embrace my culture and the food! I'm no longer ashamed cause I know I'm eating good food! I am willing to try new food and my pallet-- at least I'm willing to try.

​

Papaya Salad-- Usually made with unripe papaya, pepper, garlic, fish sauce, shrimp paste, sugar, crab paste, tomatoes, peanuts, long beans, salt and lime. Lettuce on the side to eat with the salad.

I love my salad to be mild/medium spicy and i love it to be sour (lime sour, not tamarind sour.) I also like it when my papaya still has a crunch to it. Another good one is mango salad!!! Honestly drooling right now just thinking about it!

​

Hmong sausage + sticky rice = BOMB.

You get your protein and carbs! Honestly, I don't know how much protein there is, but.... let's just say there is.

​

I went to Checker Bar in Saint Paul, MN. If you ever want to check it out. Just a heads up, I would go early to eat their food. People generally start coming in later to drink, and eat. If you want to avoid that, I would go around 6-7 pm.

​

Let me know if you go try their food!

​

-Dua


11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page