top of page

Minnesota State Fair


 

The Great Minnesota Get-Together!

State Fair Day one, part one with Dua!


Our state fair starts on August 23rd to September 3rd. Twelve days of amazing food, events, music, and live shows.


This year, I've gone to two days, and it's only been the third day of the fair! I do plan on going to the state fair one more time before September 3rd. There's so much food I didn't get to try or could not find.


The first day: August 24, 2018-- I went around 6:30 pm but before I even got there, it had been raining all day. So by the time I got to the fair grounds, there wasn't a lot of people. I was really hesitant on going since the weather forecast didn't look too great. However, I am glad that I ended up going. The lines for food was short so I didn't have to wait too long! Which was great cause I didn't end up eating a lot during the afternoon cause I wanted to save my stomach!


Crispy and crunchy!
Egg roll on a stick from Que Viet Concessions.

The first thing I got was the egg roll on a stick. I've haven't tried it previously since I was skeptical that there wasn't anything special about it. However, now that I've tried it, I do like it and I can see why people rave so much about it. It was super crunchy and it was really warm when I got it so I know it was fresh! I know it looks overly fried, but I didn't mind it too much since it didn't taste burnt. The dipping sauce paired well with the egg-roll. I wished I ordered the garlic cream cheese wontons! I'll have to get that the next time I go to the fair.



Cheese curds from The Mouse Cheese.

Next, we had to get cheese curds! That is another state fair staple! So we stopped by the food market building. BOY! It was hot and a bit crowded in there. Nevertheless, we got a small bucket of original cheese curds and ate our cheese curds with ketchup before we went on our next stop. Cheese curds was super crunchy and warm, and ketchup complimented it well!I liked this cheese curd but I'll have to try other cheese curds at the fair to compare as well!





Next we were on the hunt for some craft beer! We tried a couple of flights from the Agriculture building and at the Hangar. There was a few that I liked, and a few that I didn't. There are a couple of craft beers that I did not get a chance to find or try out. Another thing to add to my list for next time!


Be on the look out for state fair day one, part two!


-Dua


15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page